WKDU Presents: Paint it Black with Joyce Manor, Loma Prieta, Congenital Death, and Bad Side

Sunday, March 31, 2013 - 6:00pm

Age: 
All Ages
Price: 
$10

Dan Yemin may not quite be an “elder statesmen” of punk, but his impact on it throughout the past 15 years certainly approaches Mt. Rushmore status. After establishing a melodic edge to the precedings with Lifetime and Kid Dynamite, Yemin has finally “stepped to the mic’” with Paint it Black. Conveying the intensely personal (try a brush with death) as well as the overtly political (war, chemical dependency and "womb envy"), Yemin and company continue to leave room for the threatening urgency of a beautifully writ “f-you” song. Drawing on traditionally aggro forebears like Minor Threat, musical innovators like Swiz and the cold-stare lyricism of hip hop, Paint it Black is a mixed-bag success story worthy of its pedigree.

Philly Haps

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017
Time Venue Age
Dead Boys (featuring Cheetah Chrome & Johnny Blitz) / Residuels 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2017
Time Venue Age
Battalion of Saints / Nobodys / The Cryptics / E.D.S. 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Friday, Sep 22, 2017
Time Venue Age
X - (40th Anniversary Tour) / Skating Polly 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Sunday, Sep 24, 2017
Time Venue Age
Chris Forsyth & the Solar Motel Band / Dire Wolves / Long Hots 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie (upstairs) All Ages
Monday, Sep 25, 2017
Time Venue Age
Taiwan Housing Project / Cold Beat / The Writhing Squares 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017
Time Venue Age
Wire / Noveller 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Wednesday, Sep 27, 2017
Time Venue Age
Stiff Little Fingers / Death by Unga Bunga 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Thursday, Sep 28, 2017
Time Venue Age
Sonic Screemers / The Safes 8:00pm Pharmacy All Ages
Screaming Females / Street Eaters / Ronnie Vega 9:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Friday, Sep 29, 2017
Time Venue Age
Dinosaur Jr / Easy Action 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages