Philly Haps

Philly Happenings is WKDU's listing of upcoming Philadelphia area events.
All events for the next two weeks are read on the radio everyday at Noon, 5pm, and 8pm.

Do you have an event you would like to add to Philly Happenings? Email phillyhaps@wkdu.org.

When you send us information don't forget to mention what artists are performing, the location, date, time and any important details (e.g. all ages, 21+, etc...)

Saturday, Apr 13, 2024
Time Venue Age
Victor North and His Organ Trio 2:00pm Wissahickon Brewing Company 21+
Drift / Lunison / Nervous Nikki and the Chill Pills (album release) 7:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Swans / Kristof Hahn 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Rosali / Verity Den 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
QWANQWA 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Sunday, Apr 14, 2024
Time Venue Age
WKDU Presents: Sunday Brunch @ Johnny Brenda’s w/ KDU DJ’s Jackie Z. & Kirby 1:00pm - 5:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Voyeur / Her New Knife / Charlie 7:30pm Ortlieb's 21+
Alarm Will Sound playing the music of Steve Reich 8:00pm Annenberg Center All Ages
Tuesday, Apr 16, 2024
Time Venue Age
Real Estate / Marina Allen 7:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Wednesday, Apr 17, 2024
Time Venue Age
Joanna Mattrey (viola), gabby fluke-mogul (violin), Chris Williams (trumpet), and Patrick Shiroishi (saxophone) 8:00pm 2223.fish All Ages
Thursday, Apr 18, 2024
Time Venue Age
Mandell Presents: Mumu Fresh 7:00pm Mandell Theater All Ages
Mortuous / Cemetery Filth 7:30pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Setting / BASIC 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Friday, Apr 19, 2024
Time Venue Age
Wolf Eyes + Anthony Braxton 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Allah-Las 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Michael Hurley / Shannen Moser 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
David Grubbs / Eli Winter 8:00pm The Rotunda All Ages
Los Straitjackets / Creem Circus 8:00pm The Music Hall at World Cafe Live All Ages
Saturday, Apr 20, 2024
Time Venue Age
Odean Pope & Reggie Workman - Philadelphia Summit 7:30pm The Philadelphia Clef Club of Jazz & Performing Arts All Ages
Decontrol / Anthrophobia / The Heels / RILVA 8:00pm The Fire 21+
Wolf Eyes + Marshall Allen 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Metz / Gouge Away / Rid of Me 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Huda Asfour 8:00pm Asian Arts Initiative All Ages
Sunday, Apr 21, 2024
Time Venue Age
Earthless / Minami Deutsch 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Shabaka Hutchings (Night #1) 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Monday, Apr 22, 2024
Time Venue Age
Shabaka Hutchings Night #2 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Wednesday, Apr 24, 2024
Time Venue Age
Robyn Hitchcock 8:00pm The Music Hall at World Cafe Live All Ages
Thursday, Apr 25, 2024
Time Venue Age
Ruth Naomi Floyd 7:30pm Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral All Ages
Black Country, New Road 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Friday, Apr 26, 2024
Time Venue Age
Surf Trash / Parrotfish 7:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Belle And Sebastian / The Weather Station 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Dave Douglas GIFTS Trio (featuring guitarist Ava Mendoza & drummer Kate Gentile) 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Writhing Squares / Meatbodies / Vixen 77 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Saturday, Apr 27, 2024
Time Venue Age
Couple Ghouls Fest 2024 (featuring Poison Ruin / Vacation / Destructos / Waste Man / Driltusk / ABBATIA / Diuretic / Menu / Share / cry9c) 4:00pm Ukie Club All Ages
WKDU Supports: Couple Ghouls Fest featuring Poison Ruin, Vacation, Destructos, and more 4:00pm Ukie Club All Ages
Sunday, Apr 28, 2024
Time Venue Age
Ty Segall 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Monday, Apr 29, 2024
Time Venue Age
Bill Orcutt Guitar Quartet 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Thursday, May 2, 2024
Time Venue Age
Stiff Little Fingers 8:00pm Brooklyn Bowl Philadelphia All Ages
Saturday, May 4, 2024
Time Venue Age
Chicago Underground Duo 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Sunday, May 5, 2024
Time Venue Age
Social Distortion / Bad Religion 7:00pm The Fillmore Philadelphia All Ages
Kamasi Washington 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Monday, May 6, 2024
Time Venue Age
Ligeti Quartet performs the Music of Wadada Leo Smith 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Tuesday, May 7, 2024
Time Venue Age
Orchid 7:00pm First Unitarian Church: Basement All Ages
Even Odds (Dan Weiss, Miguel Zenon, Matt Mitchell) 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Wednesday, May 8, 2024
Time Venue Age
Don Slepian / Saapato 8:00pm First Unitarian Church: Basement All Ages
The Asteroid No. 4 / Mahogany / Cigarettes for Breakfast 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Trauma Ray / Kraus / MX Lonely 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Thursday, May 9, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jim White & Marisa Anderson 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Friday, May 10, 2024
Time Venue Age
Sheer Mag (Record Release) 7:30pm First Presbyterian Church All Ages
Erica Dawn Lyle / Eraser / Emily Robb - Bill Nace Duo 8:00pm Century 21+
Tarbaby (pianist Orrin Evans, bassist Eric Revis, and drummer Nasheet Waits) + Ursula Rucker - NIGHT#1 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
NDR Bigband & Kinan Azmeh 8:00pm Annenberg Center All Ages
Saturday, May 11, 2024
Time Venue Age
Cindy Lee / Freak Heat Waves / Fernette 8:00pm Ukie Club Philly All Ages
Psychedelic Porn Crumpets 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Tarbaby (pianist Orrin Evans, bassist Eric Revis, and drummer Nasheet Waits) + Kai Davis - NIGHT#2 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Purling Hiss / Axis:Sova / Full Size 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Bloated Subhumans / Brainbombs / Eye Flys / Sour Spirit 8:00pm Foto Club 21+
Wonderful Sound 3: Cooper-Moore, Pheeroan akLaff & Bobby Zankel 8:00pm Black Squirrel Club 21+
Monday, May 13, 2024
Time Venue Age
Luke Stewart's Silt Trio 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Tuesday, May 14, 2024
Time Venue Age
Nate Wooley Columbia Icefield 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Thursday, May 16, 2024
Time Venue Age
Earth / Esther Blue 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Friday, May 17, 2024
Time Venue Age
Kim Myhr Sympathetic Magic 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
The Music of Moondog performed by the Arcana New Music Ensemble 8:00pm The Rotunda All Ages
Saturday, May 18, 2024
Time Venue Age
Donny McCaslin 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Sunday, May 19, 2024
Time Venue Age
Mannequin Pussy / Soul Glo 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
moor mother / Lea Bertucci & Henry Fraser 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Time Venue Age
Fleshwater / Modern Color / 9million 7:30pm Ukie Club All Ages
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Time Venue Age
Mannequin Pussy / Soul Glo (2nd Show) 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Thee Retail Simps / Donna (from Chronophage) / Heavenly Bodies 8:00pm Century 21+
Thursday, May 23, 2024
Time Venue Age
Mannequin Pussy / Soul Glo (3rd Show) 7:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Habibi 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Friday, May 24, 2024
Time Venue Age
Sun Ra Arkestra (Marshall Allen's 100th Birthday Celebration!!) 8:00pm Union Transfer 21+
Monday, May 27, 2024
Time Venue Age
Weekend Nachos / Vermin Womb / Sissy Spacek / Backslider 7:30pm First Unitarian Church: Basement All Ages
Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Time Venue Age
Subhumans / FEA / Dark Thoughts 8:00pm Foto Club 21+
Thursday, May 30, 2024
Time Venue Age
J. Pavone String Ensemble 8:00pm Pageant : Soloveev All Ages
Friday, May 31, 2024
Time Venue Age
Nicole Mitchell's Black Earth Ensemble 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Saturday, Jun 1, 2024
Time Venue Age
Sometimes Fest (ft. A Place To Bury Strangers / SUUNS / JJUUJJUU / Slomo Sapiens / The Riko And Whaler Collective) 6:00pm Underground Arts 21+
The Roots Picnic (Day #1) 8:00pm Mann Center for the Performing Arts All Ages
Sunday, Jun 2, 2024
Time Venue Age
The Roots Picnic (Day #2) 12:00pm Mann Center for the Performing Arts All Ages
Wednesday, Jun 5, 2024
Time Venue Age
David Murray & Kahil El'Zabar Duo 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Friday, Jun 7, 2024
Time Venue Age
Laurie Spiegel's The Expanding Universe 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Spencer Krug 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Saturday, Jun 8, 2024
Time Venue Age
Guided By Voices / Aeon Station 8:00pm Ardmore Music Hall 21+
Charlie Hall's Invisible Ink - NIGHT#1 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Sunday, Jun 9, 2024
Time Venue Age
S* Glass / Sailor Beware / Emily Robb / Sinking Body 8:00pm Launderette Records All Ages
Charlie Hall's Invisible Ink - NIGHT#2 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Wednesday, Jun 12, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Mekhi Boone 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Pixies / Modest Mouse / Cat Power 8:00pm Mann Center for the Performing Arts All Ages
Thursday, Jun 13, 2024
Time Venue Age
Protomartyr 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Friday, Jun 14, 2024
Time Venue Age
Water Damage / Blues Ambush / more TBA 8:00pm Century 21+
Kim Gordon 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Liturgy / Body Void / Mt. Ida 8:00pm Milkboy Philly 21+
Saturday, Jun 15, 2024
Time Venue Age
Danilo Perez Trio featuring John Patitucci & Adam Cruz 7:30pm The Philadelphia Clef Club of Jazz & Performing Arts All Ages
Man Man 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Wednesday, Jun 19, 2024
Time Venue Age
Cosmic Psychos / Nine Pound Hammer 7:00pm Kung Fu Necktie All Ages
Thursday, Jun 20, 2024
Time Venue Age
Brandon Woody and UPENDO 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Friday, Jun 21, 2024
Time Venue Age
Ted Leo and the Pharmacists 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
The Brother Moves On 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Saturday, Jun 22, 2024
Time Venue Age
Greylotus / Sarah Longfield / Replicant / Dark Waters End 6:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Tuesday, Jun 25, 2024
Time Venue Age
Lia Kohl / Matchess / Jonah Parzen-Johnson 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Wednesday, Jun 26, 2024
Time Venue Age
The Young Fresh Fellows / The Bret Tobias Set 7:30pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Thursday, Jun 27, 2024
Time Venue Age
Miracle Legion 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Michael Foster (w/String Ensemble) 8:00pm Solar Myth 21+
Etran De L'Aïr 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Friday, Jun 28, 2024
Time Venue Age
Mdou Moctar 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
WITCH / Rahill 8:00pm The Foundry All Ages
Saturday, Jun 29, 2024
Time Venue Age
The Spits / Electric Chair / Personal Damage / Delco MF's 8:00pm Foto Club 21+
Sunday, Jun 30, 2024
Time Venue Age
grails 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Wednesday, Jul 3, 2024
Time Venue Age
Make Up 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Wednesday, Jul 10, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Milton Suggs 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Thursday, Jul 11, 2024
Time Venue Age
Hillbilly Casino / Sasquatch and the Sick-A-Billys 7:30pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Monday, Jul 15, 2024
Time Venue Age
DIIV 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Tuesday, Jul 23, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jah Wobble Plays Metal Box Rebuilt In Dub 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Wednesday, Jul 24, 2024
Time Venue Age
Tinariwen 8:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Thursday, Jul 25, 2024
Time Venue Age
Beck w/ The Philadelphia Orchestra 8:00pm TD Pavilion at the Mann All Ages
Friday, Jul 26, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jessica Pratt 8:00pm The Music Hall at World Cafe Live All Ages
Wednesday, Aug 14, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Neil Podgurski 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Saturday, Sep 7, 2024
Time Venue Age
Waxahatchee / Tim Heidecker / Gladie (NIght #1) 7:00pm The Fillmore Philadelphia All Ages
Sunday, Sep 8, 2024
Time Venue Age
Waxahatchee / Snail Mail / Greg Mendez (Night #2) 7:00pm The Fillmore Philadelphia All Ages
Wednesday, Sep 11, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Ember 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Thursday, Sep 12, 2024
Time Venue Age
Daniel Villarreal 8:30pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Friday, Sep 13, 2024
Time Venue Age
PJ Harvey 8:00pm The Met Philly All Ages
Friday, Sep 27, 2024
Time Venue Age
Ween - Chocolate & Cheese 30th Anniversary Show 8:00pm TD Pavilion at the Mann All Ages
Wednesday, Oct 9, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Thomas Marriott 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Thursday, Oct 10, 2024
Time Venue Age
Yard Act 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Saturday, Oct 26, 2024
Time Venue Age
Osees / Godcaster 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Wednesday, Nov 13, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Imani Records Artists 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages
Wednesday, Dec 11, 2024
Time Venue Age
Jazz Jam w/ Orrin Evans - Featured Artist: Imani Records Holiday Jam 8:00pm The Lounge at World Cafe Live All Ages