WKDU Presents: Dirty Beaches w/ Sisu, and Ell V Gore

Monday, September 9, 2013 - 9:00pm

Venue: 
Johnny Brenda's
Age: 
21+
Price: 
$12

Alex Zhang Hungtai, AKA Dirty Beaches, started off as a one man band in 2005 in Montreal. A trans-pacific nomad and genre hopping sound smith, his past releases include drone instrumentals, film scores and a fascination with dissecting popular american music like blues, rockabilly, soul, RNB, and hip hop, often rendering them to the point where its no longer recognizable.

His latest release, Drifters/Love Is The Devil, is a double LP that chronicles the musician’s life on the road over the past 2 years, as we follow him down the rabbit hole through the labyrinths of Berlin, Belgrade, Paris, and many other cities through heartbreak, rebirth and masochistic existential self reflection.

Philly Haps

Sunday, Jan 21, 2018
Time Venue Age
Green Milk From Planet Orange / Kohoutek / Northern Liberties 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Thursday, Jan 25, 2018
Time Venue Age
Henry Rollins: Travel Slideshow at Trocadero Theatre (Spoken Word) 8:00pm The Trocadero All Ages
Dinosaur Eyelids 8:00pm Connie's Ric Rac 21+
Friday, Jan 26, 2018
Time Venue Age
Henry Rollins: Travel Slideshow at Trocadero Theatre (Spoken Word) 8:00pm The Trocadero All Ages
Saturday, Jan 27, 2018
Time Venue Age
Sheer Terror / Done Deal / Please Die / E.D.S. 6:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
The Donuts with the Donut Holes / Midnight Singers 8:00pm Milkboy Philly 21+
Sunday, Jan 28, 2018
Time Venue Age
Sun Organ / Decent / Husky Bundles / Line Leaders 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie (upstairs) 21+
Friday, Feb 2, 2018
Time Venue Age
Rostam 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Sunday, Feb 4, 2018
Time Venue Age
The Radio Dept. / Dark Blue 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Thursday, Feb 8, 2018
Time Venue Age
WKDU Presents: [SOLD OUT] KNOWER (full band) / Darla 8:00pm Milkboy Philly 21+
Radio Moscow / Amplified Heat 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Ramona / The Dumpies / Ellen and the Degenerates / Control Top 8:00pm Pharmacy All Ages
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2018
Time Venue Age
Two Feet 8:30pm Coda All Ages
Thursday, Feb 15, 2018
Time Venue Age
The Decibel Magazine Tour 2018: Enslaved / Wolves in the Throne Room / Khemmis / Myrkur 8:00pm Theatre of the Living Arts All Ages
Friday, Feb 16, 2018
Time Venue Age
American Nightmare / Pissed Jeans / Protestor / Spiritual Cramp 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages