WKDU Presents: Marnie Stern

Friday, May 9, 2014 - 9:30pm

Venue: 
Johnny Brenda's
Age: 
21+
Price: 
$13

There’s little doubt that Marnie Stern lives up to her reputation as “the lady who shreds,” but for Marnie, shredding is not enough. After putting out three critically-acclaimed albums, Marnie could have gotten away with putting out another album filled with her richly layered sound, singular frenetic finger tapping and almost philosophical lyrics. However, as anyone who has given her last few albums a good listen can tell, Marnie is not one to stand still. Instead she attacks her musical evolution with full frontal bravado, reveling in musical risk instead of relaxing in the comforts of the known. For Marnie, musical possibility drives her ambition.

Philly Haps

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2017
Time Venue Age
Stars Apart / Joey Sweeney & the Neon Grease / The Justines 8:00pm Boot & Saddle 21+
Moonchild 8:00pm World Café Live: Upstairs All Ages
Saturday, Nov 25, 2017
Time Venue Age
Poppy / Mt. Vengeance / DJ Major Luke 7:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
The Successful Failures / Brother JT / Surefire Broadcast 8:00pm Boot & Saddle 21+
Kamasi Washington / Sun Ra Arkestra 8:30pm Union Transfer All Ages
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2017
Time Venue Age
The Weather Station / James Elkington 8:00pm Boot & Saddle 21+
Thursday, Nov 30, 2017
Time Venue Age
Jolie Holland / Samantha Parton 8:00pm Boot & Saddle 21+
Friday, Dec 1, 2017
Time Venue Age
Sheena & Thee Nosebleeds / Mori / George Engel Brooks 7:00pm The Barbary 21+
Deer Tick 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Tuesday, Dec 5, 2017
Time Venue Age
Honey Radar / The Writhing Squares / The Love-Birds / Telepathic 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Wednesday, Dec 6, 2017
Time Venue Age
T.S.O.L. / S.T.O.P. / Le Yikes Surf Club 8:00pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Gary Numan / Me Not You 8:00pm Union Transfer All Ages
Friday, Dec 8, 2017 - Saturday, Dec 9, 2017
Time Venue Age
Rebirth Brass Band (2 nights) 12/8 + 12/9 9:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Saturday, Dec 9, 2017
Time Venue Age
Bill Nace - Samara Lubelski Duo / Fursaxa 8:00pm Philadelphia Record Exchange All Ages
Monday, Dec 11, 2017
Time Venue Age
John Doe 8:00pm Boot & Saddle 21+