WKDU Presents: Screaming Females with Waxahatchee, Tenement, and Trophy Wife

Sunday, September 29, 2013 - 8:00pm

Age: 
All Ages
Price: 
$10

Screaming Females' seven years as a band, four full-length albums and 700 globe-spanning live shows has made them difficult to miss. Through it all, the New Brunswick, New Jersey trio have continued to exude a frenetic energy which is built upon the zeitgeist of America's punk and indie underground yet has always remained forward-looking. Fittingly, for Screaming Females' 5th album 'Ugly', the band enlisted legendary recording engineer Steve Albini, famed for his unique ability to capture the ferociousness of a live performance while delivering gorgeous sonic clarity. The album's 14 tracks reaffirm the touchstones of the band; they can still shred and front-woman Marissa Paternoster can still unleash a powerful howl. But it doesn't end there. The album ushers in new explorations for the band, a truly remarkable feat considering their already prolific output. 'Ugly' has the perfect combination of raw energy and honed musicianship that produces the type of rock & roll which is still a force to be reckoned with.

Philly Haps

Monday, Nov 12, 2018
Time Venue Age
Ty Segall (Solo Acoustic) / Purling Hiss 9:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018
Time Venue Age
Toro y Moi / Dizzy Fae 8:30pm Union Transfer All Ages
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018
Time Venue Age
WKDU Presents: The Dodos / Palehound 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+
Thursday, Nov 15, 2018
Time Venue Age
H.R. (of Bad Brains) 9:00pm Underground Arts 21+
Friday, Nov 16, 2018
Time Venue Age
(Sandy) Alex G / Half Waif (SOLD OUT) 8:00pm First Unitarian Church: Basement All Ages
Saturday, Nov 17, 2018
Time Venue Age
(Sandy) Alex G / Half Waif 8:00pm First Unitarian Church: Basement All Ages
Friday, Nov 23, 2018
Time Venue Age
Night Birds / Dark Thoughts / EDS 9:00pm Everybody Hits All Ages
Friday, Nov 30, 2018
Time Venue Age
Protomartyr + Preoccupations 8:00pm The Fillmore Philadelphia All Ages
Tuesday, Dec 4, 2018
Time Venue Age
J Mascis 8:00pm World Café Live: Downstairs 21+
Wednesday, Dec 5, 2018
Time Venue Age
Priests / Empath 8:00pm PhilaMOCA All Ages
Friday, Dec 7, 2018
Time Venue Age
Cave / Long Hots [early show] 7:00pm - 9:30pm Kung Fu Necktie 21+
Heron Oblivion plus special guests (early show) 8:00pm - 10:00pm Jerry's on Front All Ages
Heron Oblivion / Fursaxa 10:00pm Jerry's on Front All Ages
Saturday, Dec 8, 2018
Time Venue Age
Swearin' / Dark Thoughts 8:00pm Everybody Hits All Ages
Sunday, Dec 9, 2018
Time Venue Age
The Spirit of The Beehive / Horse Jumper of Love / Peaer 8:00pm Johnny Brenda's 21+